Den Haag (The Hague)

Den Haag (The Hague) is the seat of Dutch government but unusually it is not the capital city of the Netherlands, which is Amsterdam.  It is located between Amsterdam and Rotterdam and is the third major city of the Randstad metropolitan area. Den Haag is home to all government ministries, embassies and the Dutch supreme court.

Internationally, Den Haag is known as the de facto judicial capital of the United Nations as it is the home of most of its legal functions including the International Court Justice and the International Criminal Court. The foundation of Den Haag as an "international city of peace and justice" was laid in 1899, when the world's first Peace Conference took place there. Den Haag is also home to Europol.

Because of its role in the government of the Netherlands, the local economy is dominated by civil servants. Den Haag has never been one of the industrial centres of the Netherlands although some companies have their headquarters there.

For more information please visit

Universities in The Hague (Den Haag)

About Study In Holland is an information service designed to assist British and Irish students in pursuing their university education in the Netherlands.

We have extensive knowledge of English-taught degrees in Holland and we also work with careers advisory services. is owned by A Star Future Ltd and is not affiliated with the Dutch government.